Home | Work & Business | Business | Management Training | Training Requirements for the National Incident Management System

Training Requirements for the National Incident Management System

by Rick Carlton
  • As a final doctrine, the National Incident Management System (NIMS) was released in 2004, in response to the multiple terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. The goal of the program is to produce a standardized national emergency management response. Program components were originally acquired from Incident Command System (ICS) agencies at various state agencies, and subsequently combined and standardized under charter from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Although there is a comprehensive system of recurrent ad hoc emergency training under the NIMS, there are three required programs for all managers/operators; these are, IS 700, ICS 100 and 200.
  • IS 700

    This is an introduction to the NIMS and its underlying goals. The program is a general orientation to the doctrine. Elements in the program describe key components of the overarching NIMS construct, the purposes of each, and a follow-on orientation to the National Integration Center (NIC) and its operation.
  • ICS 100

    This section is an introduction to the Incident Command System (ICS) and its structure from an operational perspective. This course describes the system's goals, formats and related documents, and additionally articulates how ICS integrates within the overall NIMS system.
  • ICS 200

    This course is purely operational in nature. In this syllabus, the manager and/or operator utilizes ICS forms documents, physical and virtual systems, and affiliated NIMS components to create, respond to, and resolve various operational scenarios. The goal is to equip a student with a practical "situational awareness" that can be directly translated to the assumption of supervisory responsibilities in an emergency center.
    • North AmericaUSUnited States

    References & Resources